Thursday, June 29, 2017


Kristen Stewart (l) and Chris Hemsworth (r) at the Oscars.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences announced their new membership class of 2017 Wednesday afternoon with our SWATH stars making the cut. 

Kristen Stewart and Chris Hemsworth join the largest Oscar voting class which boasts 774 new members representing 57 countries. In the last two years, the Academy has been trying to right the wrongs of a long history of its lack of diversity which the majority of its membership was made up of older white males. 

Stewart has been in the entertainment business as a child actress starring alongside some of the best actors in the business (Robert DeNiro, Jessie Eisenberg, Julianne Moore, Alec Baldwin, Jodie Foster, Forest Whitaker, Jared Leto, James Gandolfini, Melissa Leo and more).  As a teen, Stewart starred in Twilight which is one of the most successful non-comic book blockbuster film series in history. 

Since the release of the Snow White and the Huntsman in 2012, Stewart has gone back to her indie roots where she has been a part of many critically acclaimed performances in films such as Clouds of Sils Maria (which she won a French Oscar for Best Actress), Still Alice, Woody Allen's Cafe Society and Personal Shopper where she teamed back up with her 'Sils Maria' director Oliver Assayas.  She was recently lauded at this year's Cannes Film Festival with her directorial debut of the short film Come Swim which she also wrote. 

Hemsworth has maintained his more commercial big budget film roots in films such as the successful remake of Ghostbusters, Blackhat, In the Heart of the Sea and the SWATH pre-quel/sequel The Huntsman: Winter's War

He continues his appearance as Thor in the Marvel films The Avengers: Age of Ultron and Dr. Strange along with his upcoming sequels Thor: Ragnarok and Avengers: Infinity War

In one of his rare indie appearances, critics gave him praise in his role as the Formula 1 race car driver James Hunt in the biopic Rush directed by Ron Howard. 

As two of Hollywood's top young talents, their membership in the Academy is well-deserved and will give more youthful insight into the Oscar voting. Congratulations to them both. Now vote vote vote!

For the complete list of invites click here.

Source: AMPS

No comments:

Post a Comment

You May Also Like:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...